Vacation in Salzburg's Lungau

The 8 idyllic villages, almost all of which are over 1,000 meters above sea level, are not only in the sunniest region of Austria, but can also be mentioned in the same breath as Yellowstone Park and the Galapagos Islands. The magnificent natural landscape of the Salzburg Lungau has been placed under special protection with the award "UNESCO Biosphere Reserve Salzburg's Lungau". This guarantees that guests can continue to enjoy an incomparable vacation experience here: In the mountains, by beautiful lakes, with traditional customs and creative people who have never forgotten their roots.

FANNINGBERG OBERTAUERN GROSSECK-SPEIERECK TAMSWEG MARIAPFARR MAUTERNDORF ST. ANDRÄ LESSACH RAMINGSTEIN WEISSPRIACH GÖRIACH TWENG

Tourism Lungau

Our 8 villages

The 8 villages Tamsweg, Mauterndorf, Mariapfarr, Weißpriach, Göriach, Ramingstein, St. Andrä and Lessach are located about 120 km south of the city of Salzburg, embedded in the picturesque Lungau mountain landscape. Here - surrounded by almost untouched nature - you will find the best conditions for a varied and relaxing vacation in Austria at any time of the year. Whether you are traveling as a family with children, as a group with friends or as a couple, the vacation region of Salzburg Lungau presents itself in a variety of ways, so that there is something for everyone. Hiking, cycling, mountain biking and e-biking, horseback riding or fly fishing are just some of the many activities to choose from in summer.

Summer vacation in Salzburg's Lungau

Summer in Salzburg's Lungau is versatile and varied. Whether you come to the mountains of Salzburg for hiking, mountaineering or mountain biking and are looking for a real challenge or prefer to discover nature with pleasure - you will certainly find something suitable here.

The spicy aromatic mountain air, an alpine landscape that spreads a colorful abundance of plants and herbs, as well as the tranquil beauty of nature make hiking an experience, offering pure pleasure and relaxation. 

 

LungauCard benefits

  • Free mountain & valley rides
  • Free entrance to museums, open-air swimming pools, castles, etc. 
  • € 1,- ticket for all bus lines in the district Lungau
  • Many other services with discounts

show all benefits

Summer activities

In summer, the mountain boots are laced up and the hiking backpack is packed to explore peaks, alpine pastures as well as mountain lakes in the Preber Sport & Leisure Region, in the Niedere Tauern or the Nockberge. Traditionally managed alpine huts with unique views invite you to linger and, above all, to enjoy. Pedal enthusiasts have countless bike routes at their disposal to get to know the wonderful landscape and people. Ideally suited for this are, for example, the Mitterbergrunde or a tour along the Murradweg, a 365-kilometer-long Austrian bike path that runs along the Mur River from Salzburg's Lungau region to southern Styria. 

Mountain bike freaks can choose from 17 selected tours of varying degrees of difficulty. A special tip is the "Lungau EXTREM" with a route length of 158.5 km and the sum of all climbs with 6,145 meters of altitude.

Book your vacation now

Stories from Tourism Lungau Salzburger Land

Urlaub im Salzburger Lungau

Die 8 idyllischen Orte die fast allesamt über 1.000 Meter Seehöhe liegen, sind nicht nur in der sonnenreichsten Region Österreichs, sondern dürfen auch in einem Atemzug mit dem Yellowstone Park und den Galapagos Inseln genannt werden.

Mit der Auszeichnung „UNESCO Biosphärenpark Salzburger Lungau“ wurde die grandiose Naturlandschaft des Salzburger Lungaus unter besonderen Schutz gestellt. Das garantiert, dass Gäste sich hier auch weiterhin über ein unvergleichliches Urlaubserlebnis freuen dürfen: In den Bergen, an traumhaft schönen Seen, mit traditionell gelebtem Brauchtum und kreativen Menschen, die ihre Wurzeln nie vergessen haben.

FANNINGBERG OBERTAUERN GROSSECK-SPEIERECK TAMSWEG MARIAPFARR MAUTERNDORF ST. ANDRÄ LESSACH RAMINGSTEIN WEISSPRIACH GÖRIACH TWENG

Tourismus Lungau

Unsere Orte

Die 8 Orte Tamsweg, Mauterndorf, Mariapfarr, Weißpriach, Göriach, Ramingstein, St. Andrä und Lessach liegen ca. 120 km südlich der Stadt Salzburg, eingebettet in die malerische Lungauer Berglandschaft. Hier – umgeben von fast unberührter Natur – finden Sie zu jeder Jahreszeit beste Bedingungen für einen abwechslungsreichen und erholsamen Urlaub in Österreich. Ob Sie als Familie mit Kindern verreisen, als Gruppe mit Freunden oder als Paar, die Ferienregion Salzburger Lungau präsentiert sich vielfältig, so dass für jeden das Passende dabei ist. Wandern, Radfahren, Mountainbiken und E-Biken, Reiten oder Fliegenfischen sind nur einige der zahlreichen Aktivitäten, die im Sommer zur Auswahl stehen.

Sommerurlaub im Salzburger Lungau

Der Sommer in der Ferienregion Lungau ist vielseitig und abwechslungsreich. Ob Sie zum Wandern, Bergsteigen oder Mountainbiken in die Berge von Salzburg kommen und eine echte Herausforderung suchen oder lieber genüsslich die Natur entdecken - hier finden Sie sicherlich das Passende.

Die würzig aromatische Höhenluft, eine Almlandschaft, die eine bunte Fülle an Pflanzen und Kräutern ausbreitet, sowie die geruhsame Schönheit der Natur gestalten das Wandern zum Erlebnis, bieten Vergnügen und Entspannung pur. 

LungauCard Vorteile

  • Kostenlose Berg- & Talfahrten
  • Kostenlose Eintritte in Museen, Freibäder, Burgen uvm. 
  • € 1,- Ticket für alle Buslinien im Bezirk Lungau
  • Viele weitere Leistungen mit Ermäßigungen

alle Vorteile anzeigen

Sommeraktivitäten

Im Sommer werden die Bergschuhe geschnürt und der Wanderrucksack gepackt, um Gipfel, Almen sowie Bergseen in der Sport & Freizeitregion Preber, in den Niederen Tauern oder den Nockbergen zu erkunden. Traditionell bewirtschaftete Almhütten mit einzigartigen Ausblicken laden zum Verweilen und vor allem zum Genießen ein. Pedalfreunden stehen unzählige Radstrecken zur Verfügung um die wunderbare Landschaft und Leute kennen zu lernen. Bestens geeignet hierfür sind beispielsweise die Mitterbergrunde oder eine Tour entlang des Murradweges, ein 365 Kilometer langer österreichischer Radweg, der entlang der Mur vom Salzburger Lungau bis in die Südsteiermark verläuft. 

Mountainbikefreaks stehen 17 ausgewählte Touren unterschiedlicher Schwierigkeitsgrade zur Verfügung. Ein besonderer Tipp ist die "Lungau EXTREM" mit einer Streckenlänge von 158,5 km und die Summe aller Anstiege mit 6.145 Höhenmeter.

Sehens- und Erlebenswertes

Jetzt Urlaub buchen

G‘schichten aus dem Tourismus Lungau SalzburgerLand